Background & History

The ODBA District Championships is funded by the non-profit corporation Ottawa District Badminton Association (ODBA).  ODBA is is a group of badminton clubs from Deep River, Brockville, Cornwall, Ottawa, Kanata, Carleton Place, Gloucester, Nepean, Pembroke, Orleans, Rockland, Petawawa, and Renfrew who are mutually interested in the sport of badminton and the promotion and enjoyment of the sport for their members via activities & contacts outside the scope of their home club.

This tournament is run entirely by volunteers, and none are paid.  Although, it should be noted there are some paid contractors such as marketing material designer, photographers, videographer, and marketing consultant. This year the tournament is organized and managed by the Senior Development ODBA Board of Director, the Leadership Development ODBA Board of Director, and the Leadership Development Committee.

This tournament is formerly known as the Dave Waddell A-B-C-D Tournament and attracted players from Montreal & Toronto.  It was an OBA (now known as B.On) sanctioned tournament until 2006.  But what does remain the same is it's an Open tournament to those outside of the Ottawa district provided they are not the champion from any other district.  To learn more about Dave Waddell, please read this article: click here.

2014 Tournament Organizers

The 2014 Ottawa District Badminton Championships will be headed by Stone Huang.  His organizing team is composed of Eugene Lee, Vu Dao, Mike Tran, Corey Hum, and Jenny Yu.  Special thanks to Roy Hoople and Jean Wong.

2013 Tournament Organizers

The 2013-2014 Ottawa District Badminton Championships will be headed by Roy Hoople.  His organizing team is composed of Eugene Lee, Stone Huang, Jean Wong, and Jason Lew.  Special thanks to Corey Hum, Mike Tran, and Vu Dao.  The tournament marketing campaign started late, but the team is determined to pull of 100+ participants.  We are considering this a success story if we reach the 125 participants mark.

2012 Tournament Organizers

This year's tournament organizing committee has put a great deal of hours make this tournament possible. Please give thanks to the tournament organizing committee, it means a lot to them.  This year was a challenge balancing the budget due to the gym rental increase. The financial constraint required new funds of income, without raising the tournament fee, was spending a lot of time looking for sponsors.  A special thanks to Jean Wong for creating a sponsor package and going from business to business landing key sponsorships.

This will be the last year that Mike Tran and Eugene Lee are helping as Head Tournament Organizers and will be handing over the reigns to Jean Wong.

Special thanks to the ODBA for fronting the costs to make this tournament possible.  And, thanks to the RA Centre and RA Badminton Exec for allowing the use of the best badminton facility in North America for this event.